Question Moving to Okinawa as a Canadian Seeking Work on Base?

scottbott

Good morning, my wife and I are planning to move to japan next year hopefully when covid dies down by summer 2021.

I am a Canadian national she is japanese. I work as a skilled tradesmen in HVAC and was wondering what the possibility of working in japan or specifically okinawa and potentially on the army base would be?

Is work hard to come by for contractors? I.e. starting an AC business? Will clearances for the bases be hard to come by? I would prefer to keep working in my trade over starting a new skill.

Thanks kindly!

The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of Okinawa.Org.

David

Founder
Okinawa.Org Staff
The easiest way to go about getting a job on or off base in Okinawa would be to go through American Engineering Corporation first. They do a lot of engineering tasks, to, I believe, HVAC installation and repair.

As your wife is a Japanese national, you will fulfill the first requirement of having a valid Japan visa as you will presumably be under a marriage visa, allowing you to work both on and off base in two different capacities.

Fortunately for you, you are coming from a country — Canada — that allows you to convert straight over to a driver's license issued in Japan, forgoing the rigorous paper and driving testing process, which many locals and foreigners still fail several times. That said, you must be able to prove that you have driven in Canada for a minimum of 90 days. Supporting evidence of this is a valid Canadian driver's license, a school training certificate, pay stubs that showed during those 90+ days you worked, and therefore had to drive to get to work, a driving background check, rent receipts, and anything else that you think is pertinent to prove that you have driven there for that length of time or longer.