Introduction Greetings from Vancouver

rad33

Hi everyone,

My name is Radley and I will be moving to Okinawa around Spring of 2020. Currently I reside in Richmond, BC, an airport city that is part of the Greater Vancouver Area. I have a Japanese wife and a 3 and half year old daughter. I took a year off work when my wife got pregnant and lived in Tokyo for one year from 2016-2017 during which time I worked as an Assistant Language Teacher at two public elementary schools in Arakawa-Ku. I have been working in hotels since 2013 and started out as a banquet server at Hilton, got promoted to a Captain after about 9 months and remained in that role for 5 years while also supervising the restaurant and bar, room service, and breakfast service. Recently I have moved to the Marriott and started a position as a Dual-Property Sales and Events Coordinator representing both the Marriott and Sheraton properties on the block, and have been in this role for about 10 months. During this time I received a few accolades such as employee of the quarter twice and employee of the year in 2018.

We are moving to Okinawa mainly to improve our health and overall quality of life due to some medical predispositions. Also living in Vancouver is extremely expensive and even with a good salary it is challenging to live in the city and tough to buy a home unless you are willing to live far away from the city core. At this point we are not sure where we are going to live on the island as it depends largely on what jobs are available as we want to avoid having to commute through traffic. Recently we visited Okinawa this year in August and previously in 2017 in February when it was still a bit chilly. My sister in law recently moved to Naha from Tokyo as she was seeking a better work-life balance and I hope my father and mother in law decide to move here as well in the future.